Several EBR Metro Council races head to runoffs in December

Several EBR Metro Council races head to runoffs in December

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - Voters in East Baton Rouge Parish sent six Metro Council races into runoffs as most of the districts were on the ballot Tuesday.

In District 2, Incumbent Chauna Banks will face challenger Ulysses 'Bones' Addison in a runoff after she got 47 percent of the vote. Addison had 31 percent. Banks is looking to be re-elected for her second term.

Chandler Loupe and Scott Wilson were re-elected to their seats for District 3 and District 4, respectively. They both will return for their third terms.

Incumbents Erika Green for District 5 and LaMonte Cole for District 7 will also be going into a runoff in December. Both were appointed to the Metro Council in January 2016 to replace to replace previous council members who were elected to the state legislature. Green replaced Ronnie Edwards and Cole replaced Marcelle.

Green, who had 42 percent of the vote, will now face off with Linda Dewey, who got 30 percent. Meanwhile, Cole had 37 percent of the vote and will go up against Elvin Sterling, who got 21 percent.

District 8 incumbent Buddy Amoroso was re-elected with 66 percent of the vote.

In District 9, there will be a runoff between small businessman Dwight Hudson, who got 37 percent of the vote, and engineer Kenneth Perret, who got 31 percent. Perret is currently a member of the CATS board whose term expires in December.

Incumbent Tara Wicker will fight for a third term with District 10 in a runoff after getting 43 percent of the vote. She will face Lorri Burgess, who is a former Metro Council member who held the district seat from 1997 to 2007 and was mayor pro-tem for four years. Burgess had 25 percent.

Matthew Watson will take over the District 11 seat with 55 percent of the vote as councilman Ryan Heck did not seek re-election. Watson spent the last four years running Heck's office.

Barbara Freiberg and Rose Williams Carey will face each other in a runoff for the District 12 seat. Incumbent John Delgado decided not to seek re-election, running for the parish's mayor-president.

Freiberg, who had 36 percent of the vote, is the current president of the EBR School Board and has been an educator for more than 40 years, teaching at several local high schools. Carey, who had 27 percent of the vote, retired from the Department of Corrections after 10 years.

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.