Four Baton Rouge schools receive National Blue Ribbon recognition

Four Baton Rouge schools receive National Blue Ribbon recognition

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - Nine Louisiana schools, with four in Baton Rouge, were recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2016, announced U.S. secretary of education John B. King. The award in based on the schools' overall academic excellence and their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

"National Blue Ribbon Schools are proof that we can prepare every child for college and meaningful careers. Your schools are on the cutting edge, pioneering innovative educational practices - professional learning communities, project-based learning, social and emotional learning, positive behavior systems - making you shining example for your communities, your state, and the nation," said King in a video message to honorees.

The program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students achieve high learning standards and make notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. The award affirms the hard work of students, teachers, families, and communities in making safe and welcoming. National Blue Ribbon schools aim to be an inspiration and model for other schools striving for excellence.

Now in its 34th year, the program has awarded fewer than 8,500 schools this honor. The U.S. Department of Education will recognize 279 public and 50 private schools at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on November 7 and 8.

The schools in Louisiana that achieved this prestigious award are as follows:

  • Anacoco High School, Anacoco
  • Avoyelles Public Charter School, Mansura
  • John Clancey-Joseph S. Maggiore Sr. Elementary School for the Arts, Kenner
  • Madison Preparatory Academy, Baton Rouge
  • North DeSoto High School, Stonewall
  • Sixth Ward Middle School, Thibodaux
  • St. George School, Baton Rouge
  • St. Joseph's Academy, Baton Rouge
  • St. Thomas More Catholic School, Baton Rouge

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.