LSU picked to finish fourth in the SEC, Mickey named to first team All-SEC

Published: Oct. 22, 2014 at 3:25 PM CDT|Updated: Sep. 3, 2016 at 1:43 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The LSU men's basketball team has been picked to finish fourth in the SEC.

It's no surprise that Kentucky is the unanimous pick to win the SEC, earning all 20 first place votes of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

LSU's Jordan Mickey was a First Team All-SEC pick. Last year the Tiger sophomore was named to the Coaches All-SEC Second Team, All-SEC Freshman Team, and the All-SEC Defensive Team. Mickey averaged 12.7 points per game, 7.9 rebounds and 3.1 blocks per game.

LSU opens the season Friday, Nov. 7 against Morehouse in the Maravich Assembly Center.

Kentucky sophomore Aaron Harrison was the choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year. Aaron Harrison was one of five Wildcats that received votes in the preseason Player of the Year voting, joining Willie Cauley-Stein, Andrew Harrison, Alex Poythress and Karl-Anthony Towns. Georgia's Charles Mann, LSU's Jarell Martin and Jordan Mickey along with Ole Miss' Jarvis Summers also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

First Team All-SEC

Bobby Portis – Arkansas, F, 6-11, 242, So., Little Rock, Ark.

Michael Frazier II – Florida, G, 6-4, 194, Jr., Tampa, Fla.

Aaron Harrison – Kentucky, G, 6-6, 212, So., Richmond, Texas

Jordan Mickey – LSU, F, 6-8, 235, So., Dallas, Texas

Jarvis Summers – Ole Miss, G, 6-3, 186, Sr., Jackson, Miss.

Second Team All-SEC

Charles Mann – Georgia, G, 6-5, 215, Jr., Alpharetta, Ga.

Willie Cauley-Stein – Kentucky, F, 7-0, 240, Jr., Olathe, Kan.

Andrew Harrison – Kentucky, G, 6-6, 210, So., Richmond, Texas

Alex Poythress – Kentucky, F, 6-8, 238, Jr., Clarksville, Tenn.

Karl-Anthony Towns – Kentucky, F, 6-11, 250, Fr., Piscataway, N.J.

SEC Player of the Year: Aaron Harrison, Kentucky

Preseason Media Poll           Pts

1.     Kentucky (20)               280
2.     Florida                           258
3.     Arkansas                        226
4.     LSU                               223
5.     Georgia                          204
6.     Ole Miss                        168
7.     Missouri                         123
8.     Auburn                           113
9.     Texas A&M                   111
10.    Alabama                        109
11.    Vanderbilt                      89
12.    South Carolina               86
13.    Tennessee                       75
14.    Mississippi State            35