La. Dept. of Education announces 2015 Principal and Teacher of the Year

La. Dept. of Education announces 2015 Principal and Teacher of the Year

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - The Louisiana Dept. of Education announced the 2015 Teacher and Principal of the Year at the 8th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium Saturday night.

Carla Jackson serves as a third grade teacher at Bains Elementary School in West Feliciana Parish and has been named the 2015 Teacher of the Year. She has been teaching at Bains since 2003 and has been teaching for over 20 years.  This past school year, 90% of her students performed at grade-level or better in English Language Arts.  For her achievements, Ms. Jackson was given a one-year lease on a new Mercedes, courtesy of Mercedes-Benz of Baton Rouge.

The 2015 Principal of the Year was awarded to Denise Rehm, who serves as principal at Joshua Butler Elementary in Jefferson Parish.  Ms. Rehm has been the principal of Joshua Butler for the past six years and began her career in education 17 years ago as a first grade teacher.  Under Ms. Rehm, Joshua Butler has transitioned into Common Core, pushing academic rigor and high standards, and monitoring their students' data as they went. Because of the data monitoring and school culture, Joshua Butler grew from a "D" school in 2012 to a "B" school in 2013.  The school was also named a Top Gains School.

"This is an extraordinary opportunity to say thanks to our educators for their service and celebrate their accomplishments," said State Superintendent John White. "Our educators are making exceptional gains with students, pushing them to achieve new, higher expectations. They are relentless in their efforts to improve their instructional practices so students can achieve such success."

Also recognized were the 2015 Elementary, Middle, and High School Teacher and Principal of the Year winners. The 2015 Elementary School Teacher of the Year is Ms. Tammy Schales, Ruston Elementary School, Lincoln Parish; the 2015 Middle School Teacher of the Year is Mr. Justin Burkhardt, Andrew Jackson Middle School, St. Bernard Parish; and, the 2015 High School Teacher of the Year is Ms. Anita Szombathelyi, Airline High School, Bossier Parish.

Copyright 2014

. All rights reserved.