EBR launches initiatives to get eligible teens vaccinated at school

Published: May. 4, 2021 at 5:47 AM CDT|Updated: May. 4, 2021 at 5:48 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

BATON ROUGE, La. (WAFB) - East Baton Rouge Mayor-President, East Baton Rouge Parish School System Superintendent Dr. Sito Narcisse, and others announced on Monday, May 3, the launch of vaccine initiatives targeting high school students.

Vaccinate Before You Graduate and Bring Back School Fun aim to get eligible high school students vaccinated. Students 16 years of age and older will have the opportunity to receive the Pfizer vaccine at participating schools in East Baton Rouge Parish with the consent of their parents or guardians.

ONE-STOP-SHOP: Stats, links related to COVID-19

Participating schools include:

  • Northdale Magnet Academy
  • Northeast High School
  • Liberty Magnet High School
  • Broadmoor Senior High School
  • Glen Oaks Magnet High School
  • McKinley High School
  • Scotlandville Magnet High School
  • Baton Rouge Magnet High School

“We have truly come a long way since vaccine distribution began, but we also must recognize we have some ways to go in our effort to bring back the Baton Rouge we know and love,” said Mayor Broome. “Our youth want to make a return back to campus to see their friends, their teachers, and their community. We can help ensure this happens as safely as possible.”

“This past school year looked very different. We were able to adapt to the times, practice social distancing, and educate students through computer screens, but the loss of those in-person interactions has been greatly missed. It is time that we bring back the fun to our campuses!” added Dr. Narcisse. “Whether it’s a sold-out theatre performance, a pep rally, a packed gymnasium, school proms and graduations - our students and families deserve to be able to experience those traditional and momentous occasions.”

The initiatives are part of the Geaux Get Vaccinated and Bring Back Louisiana campaigns. The Louisiana Department of Health, Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Health Centers in Schools, and EBRPSS students were also part of the announcement.

Click here to report a typo.

Copyright 2021 WAFB. All rights reserved.