Last day of early voting underway for March 20 election in Louisiana

Last day of early voting underway for March 20 election in Louisiana
(Source: WAFB)

BATON ROUGE, La. (WAFB) - More than 90,000 Louisianans have exercised their right to vote by casting an early ballot for the upcoming March 20 election, according to the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.

Online data shows as of March 13, 90,650 voters participated in statewide early voting.

Officials want to remind voters that the last day to early vote is Saturday, March 13 from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Citizens who want to vote early may do so in person at the parish Registrar of Voters Office or at other designated locations. Below is a list of early voting locations in Baton Rouge.

East Baton Rouge Parish:

  • Motor Vehicle Building; 2250 Main Street, Baker, LA 70714-2529; 225-389-5206
  • Fire Station Building; 11010 Coursey Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70816; 225-389-7682
  • Louisiana State Archives Building; 3851 Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
  • Central Branch Library; 11260 Joor Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70818
  • Baton Rouge City Hall, 222 St. Louis Street, Room 607; Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 225-389-3940

According to the Secretary of State’s office, the Louisiana State Archives Building, Central Branch Library and Baton Rouge City Hall may be open limited dates. Check your voting locations by using the Voter Portal or please contact your registrar for information.

West Baton Rouge Parish:

  • Courthouse Annex Building; 883 7th Street Suite A, Port Allen, LA 70767-0031; 225-336-2421

The deadline to request an absentee by mail ballot is March 16 by 4:30 p.m. The deadline for the Registrar of Voters to receive a voted mail ballot is March 19 by 4:30 p.m.

Early voting begins March 6 for the March 20 election in Louisiana.
Early voting begins March 6 for the March 20 election in Louisiana. (Source: Louisiana Secretary of State's Office)

There are 20 parishes in which there will be both multi-parish races (such as United States Representative) and local races/propositions: Ascension, Avoyelles, Bossier, Caddo, DeSoto, East Baton Rouge, Grant, Jefferson, LaSalle, Lincoln, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Charles, St. Landry, Washington, Webster, and Winn.

23 parishes will vote only on multi-parish races (such as U.S. Representative): Assumption, Bienville, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Franklin, Iberville, Jackson, Madison, Orleans, Ouachita, Rapides, St. Helena, St. James, St. John, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Vernon, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, and West Feliciana.

There are ten parishes in which there will only be local races and/or propositions: Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, Lafourche, Livingston, St. Mary, St. Tammany, and Vermilion. 11 parishes will have no elections: Acadia, Allen, Claiborne, Iberia, Lafayette, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, St. Bernard, St. Martin, Terrebonne, and Union.

Voters are encouraged to utilize Louisiana’s award-winning, free smartphone app, GeauxVote Mobile, to locate their early voting site, Election Day voting site, or view their sample ballot.

GeauxBot, the virtual voter assistant, is also available to access pertinent election information such as registration deadlines, election dates, polling locations, and hours. GeauxBot is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by visiting or by selecting Elections and Voting on

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, our polling commissioners will be supplied with personal protective equipment and will regularly sanitize designated areas and wipe down voting machines between each voter. Hand sanitizer will be provided to voters and masks are recommended, although not required.

In addition to a Louisiana driver’s license, a Louisiana Special ID, or a generally recognized ID with picture and signature, voters may use a digital license via LA Wallet.

For more information, contact the Elections Division at 800.883.2805 or

Click here to report a typo.

Copyright 2021 WAFB. All rights reserved.