Northeast High School band members participating in Presidential Inauguration celebration

Northeast High School band members participating in Presidential Inauguration celebration
Two current students and one former student from Northeast High School in Pride, La. will be participating in President-elect Joe Biden's "We Are One" event on Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2021. (Source: Submitted Photo)

BATON ROUGE, La. (WAFB) - Two Northeast High School band members and one former member are participating in the 2021 Biden-Harris Presidential Inauguration “We Are One” celebration Tuesday night.

La’Nya Bailey, Ja’Kiyas Bailey and Mason Johnson will be participating in the celebration.

“We are proud of our students and amazing Band Director, Mr. Stephen Gregory,” said Shawona Ross, principal of Northeast High School.

The Presidential Inaugural Committee will host an evening celebration to honor and celebrate all within the Black Community and African Diaspora, featuring powerful speakers, inspiring stories, and entertaining performances.

The event will be hosted by Terrence J and feature appearances by Leslie Jones, Frankie Beverly, Stacey Abrams, Whip Jim Clyburn, Rep. Cedric Richmond, Congressional Black Caucus Chairwoman Rep. Joyce Beatty, Senator Cory Booker, Senator-Elect Rev. Raphael Warnock, Kim Fields, Erika Alexander, and Jason George. It will also feature a special performance by Tobe Nwigwe, in addition to performances by DJ D-Nice, The O’Jays, Rapsody, Step Afrika, the String Queens, the Texas Southern University Debate Team, and more.

The event will also include a Battle of the Bands, featuring Florida A&M University Marching 100, Grambling State University World Famed Marching Band, Jackson State University Sonic Boom of the South, Louisiana Leadership Institute All-star Marching Band, South Carolina State University Marching 101, Southern University Human Jukebox Marching Band, and the Tennessee State University Aristocrat of Bands.

Click here to report a typo.

Copyright 2021 WAFB. All rights reserved.