Alabama WR DeVonta Smith, native of Amite, La., wins Heisman Trophy

Alabama WR DeVonta Smith, native of Amite, La., wins Heisman Trophy
Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith (6) (Source: Kent Gidley)

NEW YORK (WAFB) - Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith, a native of Amite, La., has won the 2020 Heisman Trophy, becoming the first wide receiver to win it since 1991.

DeVonta Smith wins Heisman Trophy
DeVonta Smith's Parents - 1/5/21 (Full Interview)
DeVonta Smith's Mother, Christina Smith-Sylve - 1/5/21 (Full Interview)
DeVonte Smith's Father, Kelvin Dickerson - 1/5/21 (Full Interview)
DeVonta Smith's High School Coach, Alden Foster - 1/5/21 (Full Interview)

The senior pass catcher earned the honor with 1,856 points over his teammate, junior quarterback Mac Jones (1,130), Clemson junior quarterback Trevor Lawrence (1,187), and Florida senior quarterback Kyle Trask (737).

CLICK HERE to watch Smith’s heartfelt acceptance speech.

Want to see the full video? CLICK HERE for information on additional WAFB content through streaming services.

The last Louisiana-born Heisman Trophy winner was Texas A&M’s John David Crow in 1957.

Smith leads the nation in receptions (105), receiving yards (1,641), and receiving touchdowns (20). He is ranked No. 2 for receiving yards per game (136.8). His 20 touchdowns tie him for the SEC record set last season by LSU wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase. Smith still has one more game to play.

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith (6) Photo by Kent Gidley
Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith (6) Photo by Kent Gidley (Source: Kent Gidley)

Smith is the first non-quarterback winner since former Alabama running back Derrick Henry lifted the hardware in 2015 and the first wide receiver since Michigan’s Desmond Howard.


He was named the 2020 Paul Hornung Award winner, the AP Player of the Year, and SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

He was also named Offensive MVP of the 2021 Rose Bowl with seven catches for 130 yards and three touchdowns. His three receiving scores tied a Rose Bowl record. He shares the honor with USC’s Deontay Burnett (2017) and Michigan’s Braylon Edwards (2005). It also tied an Alabama bowl record for receiving touchdowns.

He will look to lead Alabama to another title when the Crimson Tide face the Ohio State Buckeyes in the College Football Playoff National Championship in Miami on Monday, Jan. 11.

The former Amite Warrior wide receiver and defensive back was a finalist for the 2016 Warrick Dunn Award for WAFB Sportsline Player of the Year. He was ranked the No. 1 player coming out of Louisiana after his senior season.

Click here to report a typo.

Copyright 2021 WAFB. All rights reserved.