Joe Burrow named SEC Male Athlete of the Year

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow holds the Heisman Trophy that is being presented to the school...
LSU quarterback Joe Burrow holds the Heisman Trophy that is being presented to the school during a celebration of their NCAA college football championship, Saturday, Jan. 18, 2020, on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge, La. (AP Photo/Gerald Herbert)(Gerald Herbert | AP)
Updated: Jun. 17, 2020 at 9:24 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

BATON ROUGE, La. (WAFB) - Former LSU quarterback Joe Burrow has been named the SEC Roy F. Kramer Male Athlete of the Year by a vote of the league’s athletic directors, Commissioner Greg Sankey announced on Wednesday.


With Burrow claiming the SEC Male Athlete of the Year honors, LSU has now swept the two biggest awards handed out by the league this year. Last month, LSU’s Skylar Mays was named the winner of the McWhorter Award, which is presented to the top scholar-athlete in the league.

More: Joe Burrow Bengals jersey in top 5 of most sold on

South Carolina basketball player Tyasha Harris was named the SEC Female Athlete of the Year.

“The SEC is proud to honor Joe and Tyasha as the recipients of this year’s Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. “They have competed at the highest level of collegiate athletics and through their hard work, dedication and commitment to excellence have been successful in their endeavors. They are great examples of what it means to be a student-athlete in the Southeastern Conference and are outstanding representatives of their universities as both students and athletes.”

Click here to report a typo.

Copyright 2020 WAFB. All rights reserved.