WAFB wins four awards from LAB, including Television Station of the Year

Steve Schneider, Greg Meriwether, and Elizabeth Vowell (Source: WAFB)
Steve Schneider, Greg Meriwether, and Elizabeth Vowell (Source: WAFB)
Updated: Mar. 21, 2019 at 2:44 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LAFAYETTE, LA (WAFB) - On Thursday, March 21, the Louisiana Association of Broadcasters (LAB) named WAFB as it’s Television Station of the Year (Large Market) for 2019. This is WAFB’s fourth consecutive year to win the statewide honor, which is awarded annually to the TV station that best exemplifies the very highest standards and practices of the LAB and the broadcast industry.

“Our team at WAFB is dedicated to high quality journalism,” said General Manager Ronna Corrente. “Winning this prestigious honor for the fourth consecutive year reinforces our commitment to bringing south Louisiana the very best news, weather, sports, and in depth investigations. Plus, every one of our team members shares the same passion for serving our community and that shows with recognition like this.”

The award is given to two stations in Louisiana; WAFB “competed” against stations in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Shreveport.

In 2018, WAFB helped its community partners raise over $3 million for various causes and events. The Driving the Future campaign with Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital raised over $1 million. In November of 2018, WAFB teamed up with OLOL for the Beat Bama Blood Drive. That event gathered enough donations to save over 3,500 lives.

In addition to the Station of the Year award, WAFB also took home the Best Newscast award. WAFB’s 9News at 10 p.m. is anchored by Greg Meriwether, Elizabeth Vowell, First Alert Weather Chief Meteorologist Jay Grymes, and 9Sports Director Steve Schneider.

Schneider was also awarded for his 30 plus years of services, winning the LAB’s Lifetime Achievement award.

Sports Director Steve Schneider
Sports Director Steve Schneider(WAFB)

“Steve is not only a tremendous sportscaster, but also tremendous mentor to so many aspiring sportscasters over the years,” says WAFB News Director Robb Hays. “And that was evident by those who contributed to the video that saluted his service.”

Rounding out the four total awards was WAFB Lead Investigator Kiran Chawla, who won the LAB Reporter of the Year award. The Reporter of the Year award follows up a Regional Emmy Award for Chawla in 2018 for her story on a Special Olympics athlete from Baton Rouge who competed in the national games.

Lead Investigative Reporter Kiran Chawla
Lead Investigative Reporter Kiran Chawla(WAFB)

Copyright 2019 WAFB. All rights reserved.