Governor-Elect Bobby Jindal Announces Leads for Health Care Transition Advisory Council

BATON ROUGE - Tuesday, Governor-Elect Bobby Jindal announced that former American Medical Association President Dr. Daniel H. "Stormy" Johnson will serve as chair of his Health Care Transition Advisory Council and Dean of the LSU Health Sciences Center at Shreveport Dr. John Clifton McDonald will serve as vice chair.

The Health Care Transition Advisory Council's Health Care and Social Services Groups will conduct public hearings to collect testimony and make recommendations to Governor-Elect Jindal on health care issues pertaining to his Health Care Reform plan announced during his campaign. The council chair and vice chair will also review candidates for the Secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals and make recommendations to Jindal on the candidates.  The Social Services Group chair and vice chair within the council will review candidates for the Secretary of the Department of Social Services and make their recommendations to Jindal.

Health Care Transition Advisory Council Chair and Health Care Group Chair: Daniel H. "Stormy" Johnson, M.D. of Metairie is a practicing diagnostic radiologist currently serving as chair of the Board of Consumers for Health Care Choices and is a clinical professor of radiology at Tulane University. Johnson is also a former president of the World Medical Association and is a Visiting Fellow in Health Policy at the Heritage Foundation. He served as president of the American Medical Association (AMA) from 1996 to 1997, and previously served as vice-speaker and speaker of the AMA House of Delegates. Johnson also served as vice speaker, speaker and president of the Louisiana State Medical Society.  He received his MD degree from the University of Texas at Galveston and was named an Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus of his medical school.

Health Care Transition Advisory Council Vice Chair and Health Care Group Vice Chair: Dr. John Clifton McDonald of Shreveport has served as chancellor and dean of the LSU Health Sciences Center at Shreveport since 2000. McDonald previously served as the chief executive officer of the LSU Health Sciences Center at Shreveport, as a professor and head of the Department of Surgery in the LSU School of Medicine in Shreveport, and as the surgeon-in-chief for LSU Hospital. McDonald was the founding director of the LSU/WK Transplant Center, and is the past president of the United Network for Organ Sharing, the South-Eastern Organ Procurement Foundation and the American Society of Transplant Surgeons. He has a bachelor's of science from Mississippi College and a doctorate in medicine from Tulane University School of Medicine.

Social Services Group Chair: Raymond A. Jetson of Baton Rouge is the chief executive officer for the Louisiana Family Recovery Corps, and previously served as the Deputy Secretary for the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals. Jetson has also served as the assistant secretary for the Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) in the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH), and as the chief advisor for Special Population within the Office of the Secretary in DHH. Jetson served as a state representative for District 61 from 1984 to 1999. He has bachelor's and master's degree from the New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary.

Social Services Group Vice Chair: Simone Hennessee of Shreveport is the executive director of the Providence House, the largest transitional shelter for homeless families with children in Louisiana, serving approximately 50 families each day. Providence House's housing program was nationally recognized by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as a "HUD Best Practice." Hennessee previously served on the Louisiana Interaction Agency Council for the Homeless and is a Gratis Adjunct Professor of the American Humanics Program at Louisiana State University in Shreveport (LSU-S).

Additionally, Jindal announced today that outgoing Representative Loulan Pitre will serve as his Coastal Restoration and Hurricane Protection Transition Group Chair, replacing Charlotte Randolph who stepped down from the group on Friday. Pitre was first elected to the Louisiana House of Representatives in 1999, and re-elected in 2003. He was an author and floor leader for several pieces of important legislation affecting coastal restoration and highways, including constitutional amendments approved by voters in 2003. Pitre currently serves on Governor Kathleen Blanco's Advisory Commission on Coastal Restoration. He is the chairman of the House Special Committee on Coastal Restoration and Flood Control, and the co-chairman of the House Special Committee on the Bayou Lafourche Freshwater Reintroduction Project.