Jeff Landry joins 43 other attorneys general in demanding accountability from opioid manufacturers

(WAFB) - Louisiana Attorney General Jeff Landry has joined 43 other attorneys general in sending a letter to Congress demanding they repeal a federal law passed in 2016 that stripped the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) of its ability to issue an immediate suspension against a drug manufacturer whose unlawful conduct poses a health threat to the public.

"Since becoming attorney general, I have made fighting the opioid epidemic a top priority for our office. We have worked to educate the public on opioids, provide first responders with life-saving drugs, and give residents locations to safely dispose of unused medications. The Ensuring Patient Access and Effective Drug Enforcement Act of 2016 has hindered efforts to prevent the misuse of prescription drugs. Our appeal to Congress is another step toward holding accountable the drug manufacturers and distributors who have helped fuel our opioid crisis," said Landry.

President Donald Trump recently said the opioid epidemic is a "public health emergency," calling to attention the fact that drug overdose deaths are the leading cause of injury death in the U.S. In 2016, more than two million Americans had an addiction to a prescription or illicit opioid. Since 2000, more than 300,000 Americans have died from overdoses involving opioids.

RELATED STORIES: The opiate epidemic in Louisiana

Attorneys general from the following states have also signed the letter to Congress:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

A copy of the signed letter can be found here.

Copyright 2017 WAFB. All rights reserved.