WAFB wins 9 Murrow Awards, including Overall Excellence

WAFB wins 9 Murrow Awards, including Overall Excellence

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - WAFB-TV is honored to have been awarded nine regional 2017 Edward R. Murrow Awards, including the highly coveted award for Overall Excellence.

Only one award is presented in 13 categories and WAFB won in nine of those categories, including:

WAFB competed for the awards against small market television stations in Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Arkansas. Regional winners go on to be judged nationally, with those winners announced in May.

WAFB's Overall Excellence entry was comprised of news coverage throughout 2016, including the ambush on police officers in Baton Rouge, as well as the historic August 2016 flooding. "Local news is without a doubt a reflection of your community," said WAFB News Anchor Greg Meriwether. "As journalists, it wasn't always easy to hold that mirror up in 2016 because we sometimes saw our own reflections and images that showed people who we loved so much actually losing so much. We dedicate this honor to our courageous community."

WAFB's three awards for Kim's Foreshadow are for a series of reports by WAFB's Investigative Team that focused on domestic violence. Lead Investigative Reporter Kiran Chawla, Photojournalist Robert Hollins, and Investigative Producer Matt Stanley, worked on the series together.

The awards, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), were announced the morning of Tuesday, April 25 and cover work done in 2016. The prestigious awards are named after television news broadcasting pioneer, Edward R. Murrow, considered one of journalism's greatest figures because of his honesty and integrity in delivering news.

The group has honored outstanding achievements in electronic journalism since 1971. According to the group's website:

Murrow's pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.

A full list of the winners can be found here.

Copyright 2017 WAFB. All rights reserved.