14 candidates qualify for race to replace former Senator Troy Brown

(WAFB) - Troy Brown resigned from the State Senate on February 16 following domestic abuse charges involving his wife and another woman. Now, 14 candidates have qualified for the race to replace him.

The candidates are as follows:

  • Elton M. Aubert of Vacherie (D)
  • Wayne Brigalia of Sunshine (R)
  • Albert "Ali" Burl III of Garyville (D)
  • Shannon Comery Sr. of Donaldsonville (D)
  • "Chris" Delpit of Gonzales (D)
  • Warren Harang III of Donaldsonville (D)
  • Jerry Jones of Thibodaux (D)
  • Edmond Jordan of Brusly (D)
  • Patrick "Lawman" Lawless of Belle Rose (D)
  • Thomas L. "Tommy" Lyons of Thibodaux (no party)
  • Willie Massey-Favre of Geismar (no party)
  • John D. Mouton of Addis (R)
  • Edward "Ed" Price of Gonzales (D)
  • Jamie Roussell of Mt. Airy (D)

The election will take place April 29.