LSU lands 5 on Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

LSU lands 5 on Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - The 2016 LSU Tigers continue to receive preseason attention with five members making another college football award watch list.

Defensive back Jamal Adams, linebacker Kendell Beckwith, defensive tackle Davon Godchaux, defensive end Lewis Neal and defensive back Tre'Davious White have been named to the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List.

The trophy is awarded to the best defensive player in college football.

LSU and Alabama each had five players named to the watch list.

The SEC led all conferences with 27 players, followed by the Big Ten (13), Pac-12 (13), ACC (11), Big 12 (10), Mid-American (4), Mountain West (3), American Athletic (2), Conference USA (2), Sun Belt (1) and Independents (2).

LSU opens the 2016 season against the Wisconsin Badgers on Saturday, Sept. 3 in Green Bay, WI.

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.