LSU and Cajuns to host NCAA Regionals

LSU and Cajuns to host NCAA Regionals

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - LSU led a parade of seven SEC schools named by the NCAA as hosts for baseball regionals, as the Southeastern Conference and the ACC dominated with 13 of the 16 sites. UL-Lafayette joined TCU and Texas Tech as the others.

Joining the Tigers from the SEC were tournament champion Texas A&M, regular season champ Mississippi State, plus Ole Miss, Florida, South Carolina and Vanderbilt. With seven schools hosting regional this season, the Southeastern Conference set the record for the most host sites selected from a single conference.

The ACC claimed host sites for Virginia, Clemson, Miami, Louisville, NC State and Florida State.

This will be the 24th time that the Tigers host a regional in the last 27 seasons, including last year. Along with LSU, there are only two other schools that have hosted more than 20 times: Florida State with 33 and Miami (Florida) with 27.

This will be the third time that Louisiana-Lafayette has hosted a regional. The Cajuns won their third consecutive Sun Belt baseball tournament title Sunday with a 5-0 victory over Georgia Southern.

NCAA Tournament brackets and the eight national seeds will be announced Monday on ESPNU beginning at 11 a.m. CT. The champions from the 31 conferences earn an automatic bid along with the regional host schools.

Each regional will have four teams playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals will be scheduled from Friday, June 3 to Monday, June 6.

The eight super regional hosts will be announced online on Monday, June 6 around 10 p.m. CT, and the 70th College World Series will begin play Saturday, June 18 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska.

The following are the 16 regional sites along with host schools and their records:

  • Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (42-18)
  • Charlottesville, Virginia – Virginia (37-20)
  • Clemson, South Carolina – Clemson (42-18)
  • College Station, Texas – Texas A&M (45-14)
  • Columbia, South Carolina – South Carolina (42-15)
  • Coral Gables, Florida – Miami (FL) (45-11)
  • Fort Worth, Texas – TCU (42-15)
  • Gainesville, Florida – Florida (47-13)
  • Lafayette, Louisiana – UL Lafayette (41-19)
  • Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (47-12)
  • Lubbock, Texas – Texas Tech (41-16)
  • Nashville, Tennessee – Vanderbilt (43-17)
  • Oxford, Mississippi – Ole Miss (43-17)
  • Raleigh, North Carolina – North Carolina State (35-20)
  • Starkville, Mississippi – Mississippi State (41-16)
  • Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (37-20)

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.