Simmons, Blakeney receive SEC honors

Simmons, Blakeney receive SEC honors

BIRMINGHAM, AL (WAFB) - Ben Simmons has been named the SEC Freshman of the Year by the league coaches. He has also been named to the All- SEC First Team as well as the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Along with Simmons, Antonio Blakeney has also been named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

This season Simmons averaged 19.6 points per game, 11.9 rebounds per game and 5.0 assists a contest.

Blakeney scored 12.5 points for the Tigers this year, hitting 50 three-point shots.

Texas A&M's Billy Kennedy earned SEC Coach of the Year honors while Kentucky sophomore Tyler Ulis was selected the SEC Player of the Year by the league's coaches. Ulis was also named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year. Alabama's Retin Obasohan earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and South Carolina's Duane Notice was voted SEC Sixth Man of the Year

First Team All-SEC
Retin Obasohan, Alabama  
Jamal Murray, Kentucky  
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky  
Ben Simmons, LSU  
Stefan Moody, Ole Miss 
Michael Carrera, South Carolina 
Jalen Jones, Texas A&M  
Damian Jones, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Freshman Team
KeVaughn Allen, Florida  
Jamal Murray, Kentucky 
Antonio Blakeney, LSU  
Ben Simmons, LSU  

Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi State  
Kevin Puryear, Missouri  
Tyler Davis, Texas A&M  
DJ Hogg, Texas A&M

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.