Ponchatoula, Independence residents vote in several races

Election 2016: Louisiana Presidential Primary and other parish-by-parish elections

TANGIPAHOA, LA (WAFB) - The city of Ponchatoula and the town of Independence voted on races for several seats Saturday.

The town of Independence elected Angelo Mannio as its new mayor to replace incumbent Michael Ragusa. Mannio won with 59 percent of the vote.

Independence also elect five people to fill the town's aldermen seats: Calvin Batiste, Larry Cardaronella, "Mike" Muscarello, Jim Paine and Luciano "Luke" Suarez.

Incumbent Bry Layrisson beat Arden Wells with 79 percent to remain police chief of Ponchatoula.

Ponchatoula also filled two city council seats.

Rosalin McKay Batiste unseated incumbent Debra Hills to take the District B Council Seat and "Jeff" Daniels defeated Thomas J. Kuhn for the District C City Council seat replacing former City Council member Jeannemarie Pierson.

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.