Races for mayor, some council members in Baker head to runoff; new police chief elected

Races for mayor, some council members in Baker head to runoff; new police chief elected

BAKER, LA (WAFB) - Voters in Baker will have to wait for a runoff election to selected a new mayor and a few council seats, but a new police chief and a couple council members were elected Saturday.

A runoff election for mayor will be held between former Baker mayor Leroy Davis and Darnell "DA-1" Waites who both had at least 30 percent of the vote. Davis and Waites, who serves as the administrative officer for the city of Baker, were up against current Baker councilwoman Joyce Burges and former Baker councilman Carlon "Frank" Simpson.

Current Mayor Harold Rideau is not seeking re-election. He has been elected mayor since 2004.

Carl Dunn, who is a retired Baton Rouge Police uniform patrol commander, was elected as the next police chief in Baker. Current Baker Police Chief Mike Knaps, who was elected to the position in 2008, is stepping down after 36 years on the force.

Dunn ran against Baker Chief Deputy Marshal Darryl Rainwater, who has been on the city police force for 20 years.

Dunn won with 53 percent of the vote and will take office on July 1.

Some races for city council will also head to runoff elections as only two districts elected council members. Incumbent Charles Vincent won District 1 with 74 percent of the vote, and Brenda Jackson beat incumbent John Givens in District 5 with 60 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Pete Heine will face Cleveland Thomas in a run off for District 2 seat, while Doris Alexander and incumbent Robert Young will face off in a runoff for the District 4 seat

Troy Watson and Glenda Bryant will have a runoff election to take over Burges' seat in District 3. Burges, who was running for mayor, did not make the runoff election.

All the candidates up for election in the city of Baker were democratic.

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.