2015 Warrick Dunn finalist: Lutcher's Sully Laiche

2015 Warrick Dunn finalist: Lutcher's Sully Laiche
(Source: WAFB)
(Source: WAFB)

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - One of the Warrick Dunn Award finalists comes from the defensive side of the ball and was a major part of yet another state championship team for the Lutcher Bulldogs.

Defensive end Sully Laiche most certainly has a nose for the football.

"Something about running down the person that has the ball and just tackling them. It's just, I love it," Laiche said.

"You don't really watch the line. You know, but you don't have to watch the line, because Sully's usually in the backfield anyway," said retiring Lutcher head coach Tim Detillier. "He owns the all-time record of sacks and tackles for losses."

The main reason Laiche led Lutcher to a state title?

"His will to win on every single play. He's actually small for the position he plays but he plays big. Destrehan has a Texas commit and an LSU commit, and he totally dominated on both sides of the ball," Detillier said. "He goes to the all-star game, which has the best of the best that Louisiana can offer, and he totally dominated. And so, size is not an issue. He has tremendous hand strength and tremendous quickness."

"Everybody thinks I'm too small for the next level but, we're going to see," Laiche said.

Laiche had 13 sacks and 35 tackles for loss, and who does Laiche emulate?

"J.J. Watt dominates the NFL. The will to win. Just everything about him. He wants to make every tackle on the field. I mean he's not selfish, that's just his motor," Laiche said.

There's one thing that drives No. 55.

"Friday night in Lutcher, if you're not there, I mean I don't know what else you could possibly be doing," Laiche said. "It's just something about walking over those white lines on Friday nights. Just your whole perspective for the game changes, and it's like a light switch. When I wake up, it's the first thing I think about, is football. Heart and soul of the game, I just can't ever get enough of it."

The winner of the Sportsline Player of the Year Award will be announced at this year's Warrick Dunn banquet on Wednesday, January 27.

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.