Clapp named to freshman All-American team

Clapp named to freshman All-American team

DALLAS, TX (WAFB) - LSU offensive lineman William Clapp has been named to the 2015 Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America Team.

Clapp opened the season at left guard against Mississippi State and then shifted to right guard the following week against Auburn, which is where he played the final 11 games of the season. In 12 games, Clapp played 779 offensive snaps and ranked third among offensive linemen with 81.5 knockdowns.

Clapp was one of eight freshman from the SEC named to the All-American team.

The Big 12 had five players on the team, with the PAC-12, Big Ten and ACC earning three slots. Each of the Division I conferences is represented on the team along with Notre Dame. There are 24 different schools represented on the 29-man team.

QB Josh Rosen, UCLA (6-4, 210, Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
RB Saquon Barkley, Penn State (5-11, 222, Coplay, Pa.)
RB Myles Gaskin, Washington (5-9, 192, Lynnwood, Wash.)
RB Mike Warren, Iowa State (6-0, 200, Lawton, Okla.)
WR Penny Hart, Georgia State (5-9, 170, Buford, Ga.)
WR Richie James, Middle Tennessee (5-9, 171, Sarasota, Fla.)
WR Calvin Ridley, Alabama (6-1, 188, Coconut Creek, Fla.)
OL William Clapp, LSU (6-5, 303, New Orleans, La.)
OL Will Noble, Houston (6-4, 290, Leander, Texas)
OL Mitch Hyatt, Clemson (6-5, 295, Suwanee, Ga.)
OL Max Scharping, Northern Illinois (6-6, 311, Green Bay, Wis.)
OL Connor Williams, Texas (6-5, 283, Coppell, Texas)

DE Walter Brady, Missouri (6-3, 255, Florence, Ala.)
DE Jaylon Ferguson, Louisiana Tech (6-5, 256, St. Francisville, La.)
DT Terry Beckner Jr., Missouri (6-4, 300, East St. Louis, Ill.)
DT Christian Wilkins, Clemson (6-4, 315, Springfield, Mass.)
LB T.J. Edwards, Wisconsin (6-1, 238, Lake Villa, Ill.)
LB Dre Greenlaw, Arkansas (6-0, 222, Fayetteville, Ark.)
LB Malik Jefferson, Texas (6-3, 232, Mesquite, Texas)
DB Marlon Humphrey, Alabama (6-1, 192, Hoover, Ala.)
DB Kareem Orr, Arizona State (5-11, 195, Chattanooga, Tenn.)
DB Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (6-1, 205, East Orange, N.J.)
DB Andrew Wingard, Wyoming (6-0, 194, Arvada, Colo.)
DB Jordan Whitehead, Pittsburgh (5-11, 185, Aliquippa, Pa.)

K Justin Yoon, Notre Dame (5-10, 185, Nashville, Tenn.)
P Austin Seibert, Oklahoma (5-10, 210, Belleville, Ill.)
AP Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (5-11, 200, Scottsdale, Ariz.)
KR Kavontae Turpin, TCU (5-9, 152, Monroe, La.)
PR Antonio Callaway, Florida (5-11, 198, Miami, Fla.)

Tom Herman, Houston (Finalists: Jim Harbaugh, Michigan and Pat Narduzzi, Pittsburgh)

Copyright 2016 WAFB. All rights reserved.