LSU's Lange wins James J. Corbett Award

LSU's Lange wins James J. Corbett Award

NEW ORLEANS (WAFB) - LSU freshman pitcher Alex Lange has been selected as the male winner of the 2014-15 James J. Corbett Award presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Lange won 12 games this season without a defeat, striking out 131 batters and finishing with a 1.97 earned run average. Opponents had a batting average of .212 against the freshman sensation.

"Kevin Gausman, Aaron Nola, Anthony Renaudo. None came close to him as a freshman," said head coach Paul Mainieri. "What Alex did was nothing short of amazing."

The Corbett Awards are presented annually to the top male and female amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana. They are selected by the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, a group of current and former media members who select the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, as well as annual award winners in a variety of categories, including the Corbett Awards and the Eddie Robinson Award.

Since its inception in 1967 (through 2014), Corbett Award winners include 16 NFL players, seven Major League Baseball players, four NBA players (including two Hall of Famers), eight Olympians (including seven Gold Medal winners), three WNBA players and one PGA Tour star.