Broadway named Preseason Player of the Year, Cajuns place 10 on All-SBC team

Information provided by Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns Athletics

NEW ORLEANS – Led by Preseason Offensive Player of the Year selection Terrance Broadway, the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns placed 10 players on the 2014 Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Football team that was announced on Monday by the league office.

The 54-member team, which consisted of 12 players on both offense and defense and three special team selections, was picked by the league’s head coaches and media members from each of the Sun Belt Conference’s 11 football playing schools.

Broadway, a senior from Baton Rouge, was one of eight Cajuns named to the first team where he was joined in the backfield by teammates Alonzo Harris and Elijah McGuire. Also named to the first-team were wide receiver Jamal Robinson, offensive lineman Daniel Quave, defensive tackle Justin Hamilton, linebacker Dominique Tovell and defensive back Trevence Patt. Named to the second-team for the Ragin’ Cajuns were offensive lineman Mykhael Quave and defensive tackle Christian Ringo.

“All of the guys who were selected are very deserving of this honor,” Louisiana head coach Mark Hudspeth said. “This team is very unselfish and the great thing about them is that they are focused more on our team’s success and not individual success.”

Broadway, who threw for 2,419 yards and a career-high 19 touchdowns as a junior, finished 10th nationally in yards per completion (14.6 yards) and 18th in pass efficiency (153.3). Entering his final season, Broadway is fourth in school history in passing touchdowns (36), fifth in passing yards (5,261) and total offense (6,472), sixth in pass completions (372) and eight in pass attempts (581).

The running back tandem of Harris and McGuire, who each finished the 2013 season as first-team All-SBC selections, combined for over 1,800 yards rushing and 22 TDs for the Cajuns.

Harris, a senior, finished third in the Sun Belt last season with 942 yards and 14 TDs and enters his final campaign ranked third in school history in rushing TDs (32), fourth in rushing yards (2,523) and fifth in carries (532). McGuire, the 2013 SBC Freshman of the Year and a Freshman All-America selection, was fourth in the league in rushing with 871 yards with eight TDs. The Houma native averaged 8.4 yards per carry on the season and added 22 receptions for 384 yards and three TDs out of the backfield.

Robinson, a senior from Slidell, was a second-team selection in 2013 for the Ragin’ Cajuns after catching a team-high 54 passes with eight TDs.

Patt, a senior from Breaux Bridge, earned second-team honors last season for the Ragin’ Cajuns after recording 57 tackles, one interception and 12 pass breakups. Hamilton, a senior from Natchez, Miss., was also a second-team selection last year after leading all Cajuns linemen with 38 tackles, with nine stops for loss and team-high four sacks. Tovell, a junior from Columbia, Miss., finished second for the Cajuns in tackles with 67 while posting a team-best 12 stops for loss and registering a pair of sacks.

Daniel Quave, a senior from Gautier, Miss., was a second-team selection in 2013 and rounded out the Cajuns’ 2014 first-team picks after posting a team-high 34 knock down blocks and helping an offense that ranked second in scoring (33.8 points), second in rushing (204.5) and fourth in total offense (416.8). Mykhael Quave, a junior, started all 13 games at left tackle last season for the Ragin’ Cajuns after moving from left guard.

Ringo, a Preseason First-Team choice in 2013, played in 11 games last season for the Ragin’ Cajuns finishing with 16 tackles with two stops for loss and a sack.

Arkansas State's Qushaun Lee was named the Sun Belt Preseason Defensive Player of the Year after being named to the All-Sun Belt Conference First Team last season. The senior from Prattville, Ala. earned GoDaddy Bowl Defensive MVP as he recorded 15 tackles in Arkansas State's Bowl win. Lee led the conference in tackles with 134, the sixth most tackles in conference history and most by an Arkansas State player since 1991. Lee also posted six tackles for loss, two forced fumbles, five quarterback hurries, three pass breakups and one interception.

J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State) and Rashon Ceaser (ULM) joined the Cajuns’ five players on the first-team. They were joined in the skill position by South Alabama’s Wes Saxton, who earned the spot as the first team tight end. Quave's fellow lineman on the Preseason All-Sun Belt first team were Terrence Jones (Troy), Mike Marboe (Idaho), Chris May (South Alabama), and Ucambre Williams (South Alabama).

Lee was one of four Arkansas State player named to the first team defense along with defensive lineman Chris Stone, and defensive backs Rocky Hayes and Sterling Young. Louisiana and Texas State each added three defenders to the preseason All-Sun Belt first team. Linebackers Michael Orakpo and David Mayo and defensive back Craig Mager were the Texas State honorees. Defensive linemen Tyler Roberts (Troy) and Gerrand Johnson (ULM) rounded out the first team defense.

The special teams unit was led by Idaho punter Austin Rehkow who led the nation with a 47.8 average as well as breaking a record for a freshman punter. Texas State place kicker Jason Dann was the first team kicker after making nine of 10 field goals last season. In addition to being named a first team receiver, McKissic was tabbed as the first team Return Specialist. McKissic ranked third in the country in kickoff returns with 30.0 yards per game.

Louisiana, which last season claimed its first Sun Belt Conference title since 2005, will open the 2014 campaign on Aug. 30 against Southern University at Cajun Field. Season tickets are available by calling the Ragin’ Cajuns Ticket Office at at (337) 265-2357 or by visiting