Former Capitol High star named to Davey O'Brien Watch List - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

Former Capitol High star named to Davey O'Brien Watch List

Terrance Broadway (Source: KLFY) Terrance Broadway (Source: KLFY)
Fort Worth, TX (WAFB) - Former Capitol High School quarterback Terrance Broadway has been named to the 2014 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List.

The UL-Lafayette senior threw for 2419 yards and 19 touchdowns last year and added 442 rushing yards and eight touchdowns.

The Ragin' Cajun star joins a group that includes 39 of the nation's top college quarterbacks.

Previous winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

The 38th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015, in Fort Worth, Texas.

Copyright 2014 WAFB. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly