LSU wins SEC Tournament championship

Sean McMullen
Sean McMullen

HOOVER, AL (WAFB) - The LSU Tigers beat the Florida Gators 2-0 to win the SEC Tournament Championship in Hoover, Alabama on Sunday.

The game was scoreless in the eighth inning until senior outfielder Sean McMullen stepped up and blasted a two-run home run.

Zac Person got the win and Kurt McCune got the save. Alden Cartwright started the game and pitched four innings, giving up only one hit.

LSU first baseman Tyler Moore was named MVP of the tournament.

The Tigers have beaten opponents 87-8 in their last eight games and this was their 17th shutout of the season.

LSU is back-to-back SEC Tournament champs. This is its 11th SEC Tournament championship. The team is seeking its seventh national title.

Copyright 2014 WAFB. All rights reserved.