Plaisance chosen by Tulsa Shock in 2014 WNBA Draft

From LSU Sports

UNCASVILLE, Conn. – Theresa Plaisance was selected with the 27th pick by the Tulsa Shock during Monday's WNBA Draft held at the Mohegan Sun Hotel and Casino. She becomes the 17th player to be drafted in program history.

Plaisance, an All-SEC First-Team selection during each of the last two seasons and a 2013 WBCA All-American Honorable Mention pick, came away with 15.3 points, 7.9 rebounds and 1.4 blocks per game which ranked among the SEC's Top 11. The last LSU player to secure 15-plus points and seven-plus rebounds in consecutive seasons was former All-American Sylvia Fowles who averaged double-doubles during the 2005-06, 2006-07 and 2007-08 seasons. Plaisance is one of 18 players to secure over 1,000 career points and 500 career rebounds in program history.

Training camp open for WNBA teams on Sunday, April 27 followed by preseason games which runs from May 2-13. The WNBA regular season that features a 34-game schedule begins on Friday, May 16 and wraps up on Sunday, August 17. The WNBA playoffs start on Thursday, August 21, and the WNBA Finals open up on Wednesday, September 17.

LSU has secured three consecutive 20-plus win seasons and three NCAA Tournament appearances under head coach Nikki Caldwell. The Lady Tigers were ranked No. 24 in the season-ending edition of the USA Today Top 25 Coaches poll. The last time LSU was ranked during back-to-back seasons was the program's 2007 and 2008 NCAA Final Four campaigns.

For all of the latest news and information on Lady Tiger basketball, visit Fans can also follow the program on its social media outlets at along with @lsuwbkb and @NikkiCaldwell on Twitter.

LSU – WNBA Draft History
Year, Player, Round (Pick), Team
1999, Elaine Powell, 4 (50), Orlando Miracle
2000, Katrina Hibbert, 4 (57), Seattle Storm
2001, Marie Ferdinand, 1 (8), Utah Starzz
2001, April Brown, 4 (51), Indiana Fever
2003, Aiysha Smith, 1 (7), Washington Mystics
2003, DeTrina White, 2 (20), Indiana Fever
2003, KeKe Tardy, 2 (25), San Antonio Silver Stars
2004, Doneeka Hodges, 2 (25), Los Angeles Sparks
2005, Temeka Johnson, 1 (6), Washington Mystics
2006, Seimone Augustus, 1 (1), Minnesota Lynx
2006, Scholanda Robinson (+), 1 (14), Sacramento Monarchs
2008, Sylvia Fowles, 1 (2), Chicago Sky
2008, Erica White, 2 (17), Houston Comets
2008, Quianna Chaney, 2 (19), Chicago Sky
2010, Allison Hightower, 2 (15), Connecticut Sun
2012, LaSondra Barrett, 1 (10), Washington Mystics
2014, Theresa Plaisance, 3 (27), Tulsa Shock  
(+) – formally Hoston and Dorrell