Search for Southern's new chancellor underway

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - Southern University is beginning its search for a new chancellor.

System President Ronald Mason Jr. has named a search committee made up of board members, staff, alumni, a student and community residents. Officials say they will also hire a consulting firm to help with the nationwide search.

"The SU system is committed to conducting an open and successful search to find a new chancellor for the Baton Rouge campus," Mason says. "We are confident that this strong and diverse committee will recommend the best possible candidate for our flagship campus.

The board decided not to renew Chancellor's Jim Llorens' contract which will expire in June.

The 17-person committee will be co-chaired by Board Member Murphy F. Bell Jr., who is chair of the board's personnel committee and Monique Guillory-Winfield, Southern's system vice president for academic and student affairs.

Other members of the committee include: Maya Riley Banks, reference librarian, John B. Cade Library, SUBR; Dan Borné, president, Louisiana Chemical Association; Anne Chumbow, nursing student, SUBR; Kelvin Coney, SUBR alumnus and Fabric Care Supply Network Operations - North America Distribution Project master plan leader, Procter & Gamble Company; Kingsley Esedo, professor/chair, Department of Political Science, SUBR; Rachel Vincent Finley, assistant professor, Department of Computer Science, SUBR; The Rev. Joe R. Gant Jr., vice chairman, SUS Board of Supervisors; Louis Henry Jr., SUBR alumnus, president, Franchise Food Systems of Minnesota, Incorporated; Adam Knapp, president and CEO, Baton Rouge Area Chamber; James Machen, SUBR alumnus, former deputy superintendent, East Baton Rouge Public Schools; Habib Mohamadian, dean, College of Engineering, SUBR; Grace Namwamba, associate professor, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, SUBR; Carlos Thomas, chief information officer, SUBR; Wanda Waller, division head, Humanities Division, Southern University Shreveport; and Luria Young, interim dean, College of Education and Humanities, SUBR.

Copyright 2014 WAFB. All rights reserved.