Music lineup announced for Red Rock and Blue VI - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

Music lineup announced for Red Rock and Blue VI

Posted: Updated:
Everclear Everclear
Soul Asylum Soul Asylum
Eve 6 Eve 6

Multiplatinum recording artists Everclear, Soul Asylum and Eve 6 will headline Red, Rock and Blue VI this summer at The Varsity Theatre in Baton Rouge, La.

The concert will take place June 29, 2014, with all proceeds benefitting Louisiana military charities.

This show is one the big stops on the highly-anticipated, upcoming Summerland Tour, which is already scheduled to make roughly 35 appearances in the US. Tickets go on sale Saturday, April 5 at The Chimes near LSU and online at Local businesses are also sponsoring allotments of free tickets for military personnel.

Those who present their active military or VA card at The Chimes near LSU, will receive a free ticket, while they're available.

Everclear - The Alternative-Rock outfit Everclear was formed by singer + guitarist Art Alexakis, in 1992. In May 1995, the band released their first album for Capitol Records, "Sparkle and Fade." Smash single "Santa Monica," effectively put Everclear on the map and the album subsequently was certified platinum.

"So Much for the Afterglow," released in 1997, contained the singles "Everything to Everyone," "I Will Buy You a New Life," "Father of Mine" and "One Hit Wonder." It provided Everclear with a Grammy nomination and the album reached double-platinum status by the end of the year.

In 2000, "Songs from an American Movie, Vol. 1: Learning How to Smile," was the band's second highest selling album with over one million copies sold. The album debuted in the Top 10 of the Billboard 200 and spawned huge hit "Wonderful", which reached #11 on the Billboard Top 40. 

Everclear returned to the scene with their eight studio album and their first in six years in June 2012. Alexakis recruited two new members, The Exies former bass player Freddy Herrera and Sean Winchester on drums to cut "Invisible Stars". The disc, which included the single "Be Careful What You Ask For", fell just shy of the top 20 of the Independent Albums chart and reached #119 on The Billboard 200.

Soul Asylum - Formed in Minneapolis, Minnesota USA, in the summer of 1981 by high school friends Dan Murphy on guitar, Karl Mueller on bass and Dave Pirner on drums, Soul Asylum, named Loud Fast Rules up until 1983, quickly became frontrunners of American college-Rock. In 1992, they signed with Columbia Records to produce Grave Dancers Union, a record that would come to transform them from underground college rockers to international superstars. The first two singles off the album, Somebody To Shove and Black Gold, both came in at high positions at the Modern Rock and Album Rock charts, but it was the album's third track that led them to their major breakthrough. Runaway Train peaked at #5 on the Billboard Hot 100, raised album sales to double-platinum level, and won Soul Asylum the Grammy Award for Best Rock Song in 1994.

In 1995, Soul Asylum followed up the success of Grave Dancers Union with Let Your Dim Light Shine, which climbed to #6 on the Billboard 200 and featured the #1 Modern Rock track Misery.

Three years later "Candy From A Stranger", showcased single, "I Will Still Be Laughing", which got some exposure on Mainstream and Modern Rock stations as it reached #23 and #24, respectively, on the Billboard charts. The band members then took a break from recording and didn't release a new studio album for the better part of seven years.

In July 2012 Soul Asylum released "Delayed Reaction", which broke into The Billboard 200 charts and contained the single "Gravity".

Eve 6 - Founded in the mid-'90s in Los Angeles, California USA, this Alternative-Rock band initially comprised of vocalist + bassist Max Collins and guitarist Jon Siebels. The final line-up was completed, when Tony Fagenson, son of producer Don Was, joined on drums. By the fall of 1996, the trio secured a contract with RCA Records who released their self-titled debut album in the spring of 1998. The first single, "Inside Out", surprisingly hit #1 on The Modern Rock chart, #5 on The Mainstream Rock Tracks and #28 on The Billboard Hot 100, while the CD cracked The Billboard Top 200 chart at #33 getting the platinum plaque. "Leech", the second single, was also a significant hit at Modern and Active Rock radio as it climbed up to #6 and #10, respectively, on the Billboard charts.

Eve 6's second effort, "Horrorscope", appeared in mid-2000 and went gold reaching the #34 position on The Billboard Top 200 Albums chart; the record included three singles: "Promise", which rocketed straight to #3 on The Modern Rock chart, "On The Roof Again" peaked at #19 on the same chart and "Here's To The Night" made it into the top 30 of The Billboard Hot 100.

"Think Twice", released in summer 2003, crashed into the top 10 of The Modern Rock Tracks, it preceded the group's third album, "It's All In Your Head", which rose to #27 on The Billboard 200.

Eve 6 regrouped with its original members for "Speak In Code", their comeback album which was released in April 2012, through Fearless Records. "Victoria", the first single from the long-awaited fourth studio set, hit #25 on The Alternative Songs chart and the album climbed into the top 40 of The Billboard 200.

Powered by WorldNow