Southern reaches fans contest Sweet 16 - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

Southern reaches fans contest Sweet 16

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA, CBS Sports and Turner Sports announced Monday the top 16 schools that have advanced to the Sweet Sixteen in the NCAA 6th Fan Contest. The field in the online competition has narrowed to 16 schools for the contest's 2nd round.

Fans of the Sweet Sixteen Division I men's basketball programs can cast votes on until February 23 to prove that their school belongs in the Elite Eight® of the most spirited, most dedicated, most passionate fans. NCAA 6th Fan is a national contest for fans to show their school pride and support online in an NCAA March Madness-style competition.  

The following schools have advanced to the Sweet Sixteen and are listed below in their seeded head-to-head match-ups (voting is open February 17-23):

1 North Dakota State University  vs. 16  University of Portland                            

2 Arkansas State University vs. 15  University of North Carolina, Greensboro     

3 South Dakota State University  vs. 14  University of Arkansas, Little Rock

4 University of Texas, Pan American vs. 13  University of Northern Iowa

5 University of Central Florida vs. 12  Southern University, Baton Rouge               

6  Western Illinois University vs. 11  University of New Mexico                               

7  Bryant University vs. 10  University of North Carolina, Asheville                    

8  Brigham Young University vs. 9   Western Carolina University                            

The school generating the most votes in the final round of the 6th Fan contest that ends on March 16 (Selection SundayTM) will win a $100,000 contribution to its general scholarship fund. One randomly selected participant who registers and votes on will win an all-expense paid trip to the 2015 Men's Final Four in Indianapolis April 4-6, 2015. 

Powered by Frankly