Community invited to help create 10 year plan for BREC Parks - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

Community invited to help create 10 year plan for BREC Parks

Posted: Updated:
BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) -

A 2ND meeting to discuss the future of BREC happened tonight. BREC  wants your input on the direction of parks and other forms of recreation in East Baton Rouge.

Tonight, they held meetings at the Highland Road, Church Street, and Hamilton Parks. They want to hear from you. The meetings started at around 7:00 p.m.. If you missed it, a full list of all the meetings planned is published below.

About 10 years ago, BREC implemented the "Imagine Your Parks" strategic plan. It was created after surveys, community meetings, brainstorming sessions and public planning meetings.

The plan featured 12 new community parks, five dog parks, Liberty Lagoon Water Park, skateboard parks, fishing ponds, a new conservation area in Central for hikers and nature lovers, improved playgrounds, a growing trails system, a mobile playground unit as well as renovations to neighborhood parks and special use facilities such as the Realm of the Tiger exhibit at BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo.

It is now time to come up for a plan for the next 10 years. The community is invited to the meetings to share thoughts about the future direction of parks and recreation in the Parish.

This strategic plan is themed "Better Parks - Better Living."

Thurs., Jan. 16 – Kick-Off Meeting at Independence Park Theatre from 6-8:30 p.m.

Second Parish-Wide Meeting – Details TBA


All meetings below are area meetings, to be held from 6–7:00 p.m.

January
  • Tues., Jan. 21 – Flannery Recreation Center
  • Tues., Jan. 28 – Highland Road Community Park, Church Street Park, and Hamilton Park
  • Thurs., Jan. 30 – T.D. Bickham Jr. Park, Perkins Road Community Park, and Sharp Road Park
February
  • Tues., Feb. 4 – Independence Road Park, Antioch Boulevard Park, and Pride-Chaneyville Branch Library
  • Thurs., Feb. 6 – Anna T. Jordan Community Park, Plank Road Park, and Gus Young Park
  • Tues., Feb. 11 – City Park, Ben Burge Park
  • Thurs., Feb. 13 – Jackson Park, Baker Recreation Center, and McKinley Middle School
  • Tues., Feb. 18 – Forest Community Park, Cadillac Street Park, Barringer Road Park
  • Thurs., Feb. 20 – North Sherwood Forest Community Park, Louisiana School for the Deaf and the Visually Impaired, and Flanacher Road Park
  • Tues., Feb. 25 – River Center Branch Library (Downtown), Greenwood Community Park
March
  • Tues., Mar. 11 – Howell Community Park, Santa Maria Golf Course, and Jefferson Methodist Church
  • Thurs., Mar. 13 – Bluebonnet Regional Branch Library, Cedar Ridge Avenue Park
  • Tues., Mar. 18 – Monte Sano Park, Lovett Road Park

 

Powered by WorldNow