Nine Lions earn All-Louisiana notice - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

Nine Lions earn All-Louisiana notice

Posted: Updated:

From SLU Athletics

HAMMOND – After winning its first conference championship since 1961, setting a single-season school record for victories and advancing to the national quarterfinals in its first ever playoff appearance, the Southeastern Louisiana football team was well represented on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana College Football Teams, which were announced by the LSWA on Wednesday.

The Lions claimed three of the top five individual awards. Junior quarterback Bryan Bennett was named the state's Offensive Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year. In addition, second-year Lion head coach Ron Roberts was named the Louisiana Coach of the Year.

The Southland Conference champions put nine players on the All-Louisiana team, second only to LSU's 11 all-state selections. Bennett was joined on the first team by senior linebacker Cqulin Hubert and sophomore defensive back Harlan Miller.

Representing the Lions on the second team were senior left tackle Gasten Gabriel, senior center Marshall Paris, junior tight end Jeremy Meyers, junior defensive end Jacob Newman, sophomore running back/kick returner Xavier Roberson and senior kicker Seth Sebastian.

Bennett, a native of Granada Hills, Calif., added to his list of honors that included Southland Conference Player of the Year and first team All-Southland accolades. In his first year in Hammond, Bennett threw for 3,165 yards and 21 touchdowns, while also rushing for a team-high 1,046 yards and a single-season school record 16 touchdowns.

Roberts claimed his third coach of the year award. After leading the Lions to an 11-3 record and a No. 4 national seed, Roberts previously earned Southland Conference and AFCA Region 5 Coach of the Year accolades.

Hubert, who hails from Houston, adds another honor to a growing list, as the leader of a Lion defense that led the league in scoring and total defense. The Southland Conference Defensive Player of the Year and first team All-Southland choice led the Lions with 90 tackles and two blocked kicks to go with 11 tackles for loss and four sacks. Hubert previously earned All-America honors from the Sports Network and the AFCA.

Rounding out the first team Southeastern contingent was Miller, who was previously named first team All-Southland Conference. The Kentwood product led the team with four interceptions and 10 pass breakups to go with 45 tackles.

Gabriel and Paris, the leaders of an offensive line that cleared the way for a Lion offense that posted 38.4 points and 483.3 yards per contest, were both second team all-state honorees. The pair adds honors to their respective first team All-Southland accolades.

Meyers earned All-Louisiana honors for the second straight season to go with his consecutive All-Southland nods. The Baton Rouge native was fourth on the team with 15 receptions for 255 yards and a touchdown.

Newman also represented on the All-Louisiana squad. The second team All-Southland selection from Visalia, Calif. teamed with junior linebacker Isiah Corbett to give the Lions a prolific pass rushing tandem. Newman was second on the team with 14 tackles for loss and seven sacks.

Southeastern's most decorated players in terms of post season honors were Roberson and Sebastian, both of whom were second team all-state selections. Roberson, who led the nation and set single-season school records with 35.2 yards per kickoff return and three kickoff returns for touchdowns, was a first team all-conference selection at kick returner and all-purpose player. The Atlanta native, who has already set the Southland Conference career record with five kickoff return touchdowns, was chosen as an All-American by the FCS ADA, Walter Camp Foundation, the Associated Press and the Sports Network.

Sebastian adds to a list of accolades that includes All-American honors from the FCS ADA, the AP and College Football Performance Awards and first team All-Southland honors. The Lafayette native was 16-for-18 on field goals and 66-of-67 on point after touchdowns, setting single season records for PAT's made, PAT's attempted, points (114) and field goal percentage (88.9). The four-year starter finished his career as the school's leader with 289 career points.

Joining Bennett and Roberts among the state individual honorees were Tulane sophomore defensive back Lorenzo Doss and Louisiana-Lafayette freshman running back Elijah McGuire. Doss was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while McGuire was tabbed the state's top freshman.

The team was selected based on original nominations from the media relations personnel at the football playing schools in the state of Louisiana. A committee of LSWA members voted for both first and second team selections. Media members could vote for anyone on the ballot while sports information voters could not vote for their own players and had to complete a ballot for their players to be eligible under LSWA rules.

Powered by WorldNow