McNeese's Agada, Wiltz, Morgan earn All-American honors - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

McNeese's Agada, Wiltz, Morgan earn All-American honors

Posted: Updated:
Lake Charles -

McNeese State offensive lineman Arinze Agada has been named to the Sports Network All-America second team while teammates Marcus Wiltz (running back) and Guy Morgan (cornerback) earned third team honors, announced by the organization on Thursday.

The trio makes up a group of nine Southland Conference players named to the squad as the Cowboys had the most league players selected.

Agada, a senior from Houston, was named the league's Offensive Lineman of the Year and first team all-conference honors this past season after he helped pace an offense that ranked one of the best in school history.  He started all 13 games this season as the Cowboys finished 10-3 overall and appeared in the playoffs for a league-record 15th time.

Wiltz, a senior from Cecilia, ran for 1,287 yards on the season to become the first McNeese rusher to eclipse the 1,000-yard mark since 2009 and just the 12th player in school history to reach the milestone.  The first team all-conference selection averaged a league-high 105.1 yards per game rushing during the regular season and finished the year ranked third at 99.0 yards per game.  He had five 100-yard rushing games and led the team with 11 rushing touchdowns.

Morgan finished up his McNeese State career as the team and conference leader in pass interceptions with four on the season.  The senior from Baton Rouge earned first team all-conference honors and ranked fifth on the team with 59 total tackles.  He started all 12 regular season games but suffered a season-ending injury in the first quarter at Lamar in the season finale.  His 76-yard interception return for a touchdown at South Florida helped secure the program's biggest non-playoff win in school history.

This is the first time since 2006 (Steven Whitehead, Bryan Smith, Blake Bercegeay) McNeese has had three players named a Sports Network All-American.

Earlier this week Agada was named an All-American by the College Sports Madness and Beyond Sports Network organizations.

The Missouri Valley Football Conference had the most first-team selections (eight) and tied with the Big Sky Conference for the most overall selections (14). The Ohio Valley Conference followed with 12 overall selections, then it was CAA Football with 11, the Southland Conference with nine, the Northeast and Southern conferences with eight each, the Big South Conference and Patriot League with six each, the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference with five, the Southwestern Athletic Conference with four, and the Ivy and Pioneer leagues with three each.

Sports Network FCS All-America Team



First Team


QB  Jimmy Garoppolo, Eastern Illinois

RB Terrance West, Towson

RB  Zach Zenner, South Dakota State

FB  Andrew Grothmann, North Dakota State

WR  Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington

WR  Lee Kurfis, Lehigh

WR  Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois

TE  MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois

OL  Dakota Dozier, Furman

OL  Eric Pike, Towson

OL  Collin Seibert, Eastern Illinois

OL  Billy Turner, North Dakota State

OL  Bryan Witzmann, South Dakota State

AP  Fabian Truss, Samford

PK  Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iow

KR  Xavier Roberson, SE Louisiana



DE  Brad Daly, Montana State

DE  Terrence Fede, Marist

DT  Sullivan Grosz, Cal Poly

DT  Caraun Reid, Princeton

LB  Stephon Robertson, James Madison

LB  Justin Shade, Samford

LB  Joe Thomas, South Carolina State

LB  Lynden Trail, Norfolk State

CB  Kendall James, Maine

CB  Marcus Wiliams, North Dakota State

S  Jerome Couplin III, William & Mary

S  Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State

P  Chad Zinchini, Tennessee Tech

LS  Richard Wright, Liberty

PR  Torrance Williams, Sam Houston State


Second Team


QB  Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington

RB  Kyle Harbridge, Saint Francis (Pa.)

RB  DaMarcus James, Jacksonville State

RB  Lorenzo Taliaferro, Coastal Carolina

FB  Emmanuel Holder, Towson

FB  Darien Robinson, The Citadel

WR  Sam Ajala, Fordham

WR  Jeremy Butler, UT Martin

WR  Lee Doss, Southern

TE  Justin Perillo, Maine

OL  Arinze Agada, McNeese State

OL  Tristan Bellamy, South Carolina State

OL  Matt Crisafi, William & Mary

OL  A.J. Dalton, Robert Morris

OL  Mason Halter, Fordham

AP  Rob Hollomon, Central Connecticut

PK  Griffin Thomas, Jacksonville State

KR  Adrian Wilkins, North Carolina Central



DE  Zach Hodges, Harvard

DE  Shaquille Riddick, Gardner-Webb

DE  Davis Tull, UT-Chattanooga

DT  Zach Kerr, Delaware

DT  Troy Moore, Sacred Heart

LB  Quinn Backus, Coastal Carolina

LB  Todd Davis, Sacramento State

LB  Tyler Starr, South Dakota

LB  Jordan Tripp, Montana

CB  T.J. Lee III, Eastern Washington

CB  Jordan Love, Towson

S  Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State

S  Jaquiski Tartt, Samford

P  Kyle Loomis, Portland State

LS  Chris Highland, Illinois State

PR  Tavoris Doss, Alcorn State


Third Team


QB  Michael Nebrich, Fordham

RB  D.J. Adams, Portland State

RB  Keshaudas Spence, Sacred Heart

RB  Marcus Wiltz, McNeese State

FB  Kurt Odom, Campbell

WR  Kenny Cook, Gardner-Webb

WR  Adam Drake, Eastern Illinois

WR  Roman Wilson, Princeton

TE  Jeff LePak, Eastern Illinois

OL  Dorian Byrd, Georgia Southern

OL  Phede Celestin, Marist

OL  Jamey Cheatwood, Coastal Carolina

OL  Kadeem Edwards, Tennessee State

OL  Chris Elkins, Youngstown State

OL  Danny Kistler, Montana

OL  Mitchell Van Dyk, Portland State

AP  Greg Hardin, North Dakota

PK  Colton Cook, Southern Utah

KR  Shawn Johnson, Montana State



DE  Anthony Bass, Tennessee State

DE  Jesse Dickson, Lamar

DE  Colton Underwood, Illinois State

DT  Robert Simpson, Miss. Valley State

DT  Tracey Smith, Bucknell

LB  Telvion Clark, Towson

LB  Jarkevis Fields, Bethune-Cookman

LB  Stephen Hodge, Fordham

LB  Cqulin Hubert, SE Louisiana

LB  Christian Kuntz, Duquesne

CB  Guy Morgan, McNeese State

CB  Winston Wright, South Dakota State

S  Colten Heagle, North Dakota State

S  Bookie Sneed, Sam Houston State

P  Bentlee Critcher, Appalachian State

P  Bobby Wenzig, Alabama State

LS  Phil Faccone, Wagner

LS  Chris Maikranz, Lamar

PR  Antwan Eddie, Robert Morris

Powered by WorldNow