LHSAA changes face of high school football playoffs - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

LHSAA changes face of high school football playoffs


Public verses private was the issue on the table at today's LHSAA meeting. It ended with a vote by high school principals to split public and private schools up when they reach the football playoffs.

The face of high school football in Louisiana is changing as the principals' vote to split playoffs passes 200 to 100. The two groups are officially being called select and non-select. Also changing will be the number of titles. There will now be seven crowned in the Superdome instead of five.

Classes 1A through 5A will still play for titles, but those schools will only include public schools, also known as non-select schools. Two separate divisions will be created for the select schools which are private, lab, magnet, parochial and charter schools.

Division I will be 3A to 5A schools including heavy hitters such as John Curtis, Evangel, Notre Dame, Parkview Baptist, Catholic and St. Michael. These powerhouses will now have to fight it out for one title.

The other select group, Division II, combines 1A and 2A select schools. 

This change opens up more opportunities for many public schools in metropolitan areas that voted for the new plan after years of missing out on the Superdome championships.

The LHSAA is still working on how they will stage seven different championship games at the Superdome.

Copyright 2013 WAFB. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly