Five Jaguars earn All-SWAC honors - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

Five Jaguars earn All-SWAC honors

From Southern University

BIRMIMGHAM - Southern wide receiver Lee Doss heads a group of five Jaguars named to 2012 All-SWAC teams, the Southwestern Athletic Conference announced Tuesday.

Doss, who led the Jaguars in receptions (65) and receiving TDs (8), earned Southern's lone first team All-SWAC selection. The St. Augustine High product also led the conference in receptions per game with 5.9 and finished with 698 receiving yards.

Joining Doss on the All-SWAC team is second team selections junior QB Dray Joseph, who was the league's top passer throwing for 2,511 yards and 25 TDs, and redshirt senior OL Chris Browne, who was also a 2012 preseason All-SWAC second team pick.

On defense, junior LB Anthony Balancier joins junior CB Virgil Williams as second team All-SWAC selections. Balancier, a McDonough 35 product, and Williams, a Evangel Christian product, finished as the Jaguars top two tacklers in 2012 combining for 131 stops.

Southwestern Athletic Conference released its All-SWAC football teams for the 2012 season on Tuesday. The announcement kicked off the build-up to Saturday's Toyota SWAC Football Championship Game which will take place on Saturday at historic Legion Field.

Western Division champions Arkansas-Pine Bluff led the way with 13 student-athletes selected, including seven first-team picks. Eastern Division champ Jackson State and Alabama State each placed seven on the teams, with ASU having six on the first team and JSU five. Mississippi Valley State and Prairie View had six apiece, while, Alabama A&M and Southern each placed five student-athletes on the list. Texas Southern rounded out the selections with one honoree.

Jackson State wide receiver Rico Richardson was named Offensive Player of the Year, while UAPB lineman Brandon Thurmond grabbed Defensive Player the Year honors. Alabama State running back Isaiah Crowll was named Newcomer of the Year, while PVAM kick return specialist Johnta Hebert was named Freshman of the Year.

Richardson, a 2011 second team selection was the only receiver in the SWAC to gain over 1,000 yards receiving this season, The senior from Natchez, Miss. finished the regular season with 56 receptions for 1,081 yards which led the SWAC and is ranked 13th in the NCAA. He also led the conference in TD grabs with 10. He averaged 19.3 yards per catch and 98.3 per game also lead the SWAC.

Thurmond recorded 63 tackles, included 25 tackles for loss, ranking him second in the SWAC, second in NCAA (FCS). He led the nation in sacks with 16.5. In addition, Thurmond had one pass break-up, seven quarterback hurries, three recovered fumbles, one forced fumble and one blocked kick.

Crowell, a transfer from the University of Georgia, was third in the SWAC in rushing with 842 yards and posted four 100-yard rushing games. He scored a career-high 15 touchdowns which led the SWAC. Crowell.also caught 11 passes for 95 yards and scored at least one touchdown 10 times.

Hebert returned 49 kicks for 926 yards. He averaged 18.8 per kick which ranked him second in the SWAC. Hebert also returned one kickoff for a touchdown and led the SWAC with 121.7 all-purpose yards per game.

The All-SWAC teams are selected by the head football coaches and SID's of the conference. The SWAC Coach of the Year is determined by the winner of the SWAC Championship Game and will be presented following Saturday's game at Birmingham's Legion Field. Kickoff is set for 12:02 p.m. between Jackson State and Arkansas-Pine Bluff. The game will be broadcast live on ESPNU.

All-SWAC 1st-team Offense

QB Ben Anderson, SO, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

RB Kaderius Lacey, SR, Alabama A&M

RB Isaiah Crowell, SO, Alabama State

WR Rico Richardson, SR, Jackson State

WR Lee Doss, JR, Southern

TE Dezmond Beverly, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL Terren Jones, SR, Alabama State

OL Zion Pyatt, SR, Jackson State

OL Stephen Capler, SR, Jackson State

OL Christopher Wilson, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL Jamal Johnson-Webb, SR, Alabama A&M

All-SWAC 1st-team Defense

DL Joseph LeBeau, SR, Jackson State

DL Brandon Thurmond, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DL Robert Simpson, JR, Mississippi Valley

DL Jimmy Daniels, SR, Alabama State

LB Brandon Roberts, SR, Alabama State

LB Keven Woods, SR, Mississippi Valley

LB Bill Ross, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DB Kejuan Riley, SR, Alabama State

DB Qua Cox, JR, Jackson State

DB Vernon Marshall, SR, Alabama A&M

DB Ryan Shaw, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

All-SWAC 1st-team Specialists

PK Tyler Strickland, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

P Bobby Wenzig, JR, Alabama State

KR Spencer Nelson, SR, Prairie View

All-SWAC 2nd-team Offense

QB Dray Joseph, JR, Southern

RB Justin Billings, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

RB Brandon Stansell, SR, Mississippi Valley

WR T.C. McWilliams, SR, Alabama State

WR Ladrius Eckwood, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

TE Bobby Goldsby, SR, Alabama A&M

OL Chris Browne, SR, Southern

OL Terron Armstead, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL Tre Glover, SO, Prairie View

OL Kenny Eagle, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL Jonathan Smith, SO, Jackson State

All-SWAC 2nd-team Defense

DL Johnathan Billups, SR, Jackson State

DL Robert Dorsey, SR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DL Javaris Frtiz, SR, Mississippi Valley

DL Preston Nelson, SR, Alabama A&M

LB Anthony Balancier, JR, Southern

LB Jerome Howard, SO, Prairie View

LB Jer-ryan Harris, JR, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DB Virgil Williams, JR, Southern

DB Marquez Floyd, SR, Mississippi Valley

DB Brian Medlock, SR, Prairie View

DB Carlos Hollis, SR, Mississippi Valley

All-SWAC 2nd-team Specialists

PK Chris Barrick, SO, Prairie View

P Robert Hersh, SR, Texas Southern

KR Johnta' Hebert, FR, Prairie View

Powered by Frankly