No Tigers on the Biletnikoff Watch List - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

No Tigers on the Biletnikoff Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, has released the 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List.

The award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers.

The 2012 winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:30 - 9:30pm on ESPN.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, 2012, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 19, 2012. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List (listed in alphabetical order)

Player School Year

Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin JR

Keenan Allen California JR

Tavon Austin West Virginia SR

Stedman Bailey West Virginia JR

Emory Blake Auburn SR

Josh Boyce TCU JR

Jheranie Boyd North Carolina SR

Corey Brown Ohio State JR

Dan Buckner Arizona SR

Michael Campanaro Wake Forest JR

DeVonte Christopher Utah SR

Keenan Davis Iowa SR

Marcus Davis Virgina Tech SR

Mike Davis Texas JR

Andre Debose Florida JR

Aaron Dobson Marshall SR

Noel Grigsby San Jose State JR

Cobi Hamilton Arkansas SR

Nick Harwell Miami (Ohio) JR

Willie Haulstead Florida State JR

Erik Highsmith North Carolina SR

Cody Hoffman BYU JR

DeAndre Hopkins Clemson JR

Justin Hunter Tennessee JR

Allen Hurns Miami (Fla.) JR

Darius Johnson SMU SR

TJ Jones Notre Dame JR

Tavarres King Georgia SR

Alec Lemon Syracuse SR

Colin Lockett San Diego St. JR

Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt JR

Matt Miller Boise State SO

T.J. Moe Missouri SR

Uzoma Nwachukwu Texas A&M SR

Quinton Patton La. Tech SR

Tevin Reese Baylor JR

Da'Rick Rogers Tennessee JR

Roy Roundtree Michigan SR

Mike Shanahan Pittsburgh SR

Kenny Stills Oklahoma JR

Devin Street Pittsburgh JR

Ryan Swope Texas A&M SR

Conner Vernon Duke SR

Eric Ward Texas Tech JR

Markus Wheaton Oregon State SR

Terrance Williams Baylor SR

Marquess Wilson Washington State JR

Robert Woods USC JR


Powered by Frankly