LSU's Mathieu, Reid named to Jim Thorpe Award Watch List - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

LSU's Mathieu, Reid named to Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Oklahoma City — LSU's Tyrann Mathieu and Eric Reid are on a list of 35 defensive backs named to the 2012 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List, an award given to the top defensive back in the country.

The Thorpe Award is named after history's greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City.  Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The 2012 Olympics mark the 100-year anniversary of Thorpe winning gold in the decathlon and pentathlon at the Stockholm Olympics.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compiles a list of 30-40 players each year.  The list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses.  The Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 6, 2012 on ESPN.


Johnny Adams, Michigan State CB, Sr.

Jahleel Addae, Central Michigan S, Jr.

Ricardo Allen, Purdue CB, Jr.

David Amerson, North Carolina State CB, Jr.

Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State CB, Sr.

C.J. Barnett, Ohio State S, Jr.

John Boyett, Oregon S, Sr.

Chad Boyd, Louisiana Tech, S, Sr.

Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State CB, Sr.

Travis Carrie, Ohio University CB, Sr.

Jonathan Cyprien, Florida International S, Sr.

Matt Elam, Florida S, Jr.

D.J. Hayden, Houston CB, Sr.

Jarred Holley, Pittsburgh S, Sr.

Kemal Ishmael, Central Florida S, Sr.

Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma S, Jr.

Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State S, Jr.

Robert Lester, Alabama S, Sr.

Isaiah Lewis, Michigan State S, Jr.

Nigel Malone, Kansas State CB , Sr.

Tyrann Mathieu, Louisiana State S, Jr.

Dexter McCoil, Tulsa S, Sr.

T.J. McDonald, Southern California S, Sr.

Leon McFadden, San Diego State CB, Sr.

Dayonne Nunley, Miami (OH) CB, Jr.

Jordan Poyer, Oregon State CB, Sr.

Eric Reid, Louisiana State S, Jr.

Xavier Rhodes, Florida State CB, Jr.

Nickell Robey, Southern California CB, Jr.

Logan Ryan, Rutgers CB, Jr.

Johnnie Simon, Western Michigan S, Jr.

Hakeem Smith, Louisville S, Jr.

Brynden Trawick, Troy S, Sr.

Kenny Vaccaro, Texas S, Sr.

Deron Wilson, Southern Mississippi CB, Jr.

By Conference: ACC (3); BIG 12 (4); BIG EAST (3); BIG 10 (4); CUSA (4); MAC (4); MWC (1); PAC (4); SEC (5); SBC (2); and WAC (1).

Powered by Frankly