Collins wins the 2011 Warrick Dunn Award - WAFB 9 News Baton Rouge, Louisiana News, Weather, Sports

Collins wins the 2011 Warrick Dunn Award


Defensive back Landon Collins has been named the 2011 Warrick Dunn Award winner as the WAFB Sportsline Player of the Year.

The Dutchtown Griffins senior beat out eight other finalists for the award that has been presented since 2007.

Previous winners Blaine Gautier (2007) of UL-Lafayette and Terrence Magee (2010) from LSU joined Dunn, the former Catholic High and NFL star at the ceremony.

Collins rushed for 1,218 yards on just 89 carries, an average of 13.7 per carry to go with 21 touchdowns.

Collins says he plans to play defense for Alabama after leading the Griffins to back-to-back 10-0 seasons. Collins committed to the Crimson Tide January 5th.

WAFB will have more on 9News at 10:00pm and on the web at

Copyright 2012 WAFB. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly